The Land of the Lune

John Self
published by Drakkar Press

First Edition (2008): ISBN 978-0-9548605-1-6

Second Edition (2010) ISBN 978-0-9548605-2-3


The Land of the Lune presents a guide to the region of northwest England that lies within the Lune watershed. It covers parts of the Howgills, the Lakes, the Dales and the Forest of Bowland, and the area between. It travels along the Lune and its tributaries (including the Rawthey, Clough, Dee, Greta, Wenning, Conder and Cocker), visiting places of interest along the way, such as Tebay, Sedbergh, Kirkby Lonsdale, Ingleton, Bentham and Lancaster.


The First Edition (2008) of The Land of the Lune is now out of print (many thanks to all its readers!).


The Second Edition (2010) of The Land of the Lune is only available on-line.

The whole thing can be read here (in pdf) and here (on issuu) and here (on yumpu)

but it may be more convenient to download a chapter at a time:


1.      Northern Howgills and Orton Fells

2.      Shap Fells and Birkbeck Fells

3.      Western Howgills and Firbank Fell

4.      Upper Rawtheydale

5.      Lower Rawtheydale and Dentdale

6.      Middleton Fell

7.     Middle Lunesdale and Leck Fell

8.      The Greta Headwaters

9.      Gretadale and a little more Lunesdale

10.    The Wenning Headwaters

11.    Wenningdale, Hindburndale and Roeburndale                                    

12.    The Lune Floodplain and the Top of Bowland

13.    The Lune to Lancaster

14.    The Salt Marshes

15.    Into Morecambe Bay

Bibliography, Further Information and Index